Meeting was called to order at 1:05pm on Saturday, October 5, 2019

Attendees

Carma Robinson-Kendall, President
Pam Olawaiye, Membership Chair
Cliff Wiley, Former MVA President
Karen Homan
Gilda Muci, Shockers Track Club - on phone
Darren Muci, Shockers Track Club - on phone
Dion Lewis – Communications Chair, on phone
Missy Tate – Women's Track And Field Chair, on phone

Approval of 2018 Annual Meeting Minutes

The group voted to accept the 2018 minutes as written. The motion was made by Pam Olawaiye and seconded by Missy Tate.

Old Business

The President gave an account of the Missouri Valley 2018 financials. If interested in the financials, please contact Carma Robinson-Kendall at president@missourivalley.usatf.org

Championship Summary stats for 2018. MVA sponsored 6 Championship meets:

- <u>Grandview Invitational</u> had 523 athletes. Excelerate Phenoms won the overall trophy, KCEC won 2nd overall team and Platte County won 3rd place.
- Olathe Express Invitational had over 398 athletes which included 6 Open and Masters athletes that participated.
- **Association Championship** at William Jewell College had 623 athletes.
- Regional Championship was held at Emporia State University and was a great success.
- <u>2018 Masters Championship</u> at Wichita State University. There was a total of 62 Master Athletes and 12 Open Athletes that attended.
- <u>2018 XC Championships</u> at Osage HS on Nov, 11, 2018. There was a total of 18 athletes including 2 open.
- 1st Annual Highland Community College Indoor Meet was held on Dec. 9, 2018.

Membership Report

Pam Olawaiye, Membership Chair reported that:

- There are 39 clubs and 1078 total members to date.
- There are 113 Certified Officials 16 Apprentice Level, 33 Association Level, 27 National Level and 37 Master Level Officials.

Sanctions Report

There are a total of 19 meets sanctioned by MVA including the Turkey Scramble, Kringle Jingle and Let's Move, KS.

New Business

The USATF annual meeting will be held on Dec. 5 – Dec. 8 in Reno, NV. Missouri Valley will be sending 12 Board Members as delegates. As usual, Missouri Valley will pay for flights and hotel rooms.

There are still concerns with getting badges to the officials, and the USATF database not accepting payments online. Racquel Adams explained that she is working with Roger Burbage to get Officials their badges in a timely manner. If anyone has questions regarding badges, please contact either Carma Robinson-Kendall, President or Racquel Adams — Certification Chair.

Communications Chair Report

Dion Lewis presented his Communications report to the group.

- He will continue to send out the USATF Newsletter monthly. He is requesting that anyone with news, updates for meets, meet winners, accomplishments – both on and off of the track, forward to him to be included in newsletter.
- The following awards will be handed out at the annual meeting:
 - Greg Hon Distinguished Service
 - o Amaya Harris 15-16 yr old MVA Female Athlete of Year
 - Ken Ferguson Distinguished Service
 - o Aaron Modrow 17-18 yr old MVA Male Athlete of the Year
 - o Chesiaus Robinson Head Coach of the Year
 - Peyton Davis 17-18 age division

Everyone is encouraged to nominate athletes, coaches, officials, etc. for awards. Dion expressed his desire to utilize social media more, i.e. Twitter, Facebook and USATF MV Website.

Carma Robinson-Kendall announced the Angeline Annelus, who is a former member of USATF MVA track and field is now the IAAF Championship winner for the 200m. Angeline just recently graduated from USC and is now working on her Masters Degree.

Race walk Report

Jamie Koontz, Race walk Official, hosted a Race Walk Clinic at Mid-America Nazarene College. Anyone interested in officiating Race Walk, please contact either Carma Robinson-Kendall or Jamie Koontz.

Presidents Report

MVA will be hosting the following Championship Meets in 2019-2020:

- 2019 XC Championship will be held at Ft. Osage HS on Sun. Nov. 10 at 8:00am.
- 2nd Annual HCC Indoor Meet on Sat. Dec. 14
- 3rd Annual HCC Indoor Meet on Sat. Jan. 11
- Indoor Championship will be held at Highland Community College (HCC) Sun. Feb. 16, 2020.
- The Indoor Championships will be on Sunday, Feb. 16 at HCC.
- MVA will be hosting the 2020 Regional Championship at Emporia State University, Emporia, KS on Thursday, July 2 Sunday, 2020.

We will be reaching out to all Certified Officials to request help in officiating each of these youth meets. Please contact Carma Robinson-Kendall to volunteer to officiate any of these meets.

Carma expressed the desire for more youth clubs to host track meets. Teams can contact Carma for more information, or to schedule a meet.

Darren Muci congratulated the USATF MVA Leadership team in stepping up to help the OKC Association secure the venue for the 2018 Regional Meet at Emporia State University after, due to circumstances beyond their control, the OKC venue became unavailable at the last minute.

MVA is in need of more Certified Officials. We currently have a total of 113 Certified Officials in MVA. There are: 16 Apprentice Level, 33 Association Level, 27 National Level, and 37 Master Level Officials.

Sanctions Report

We currently have 19 meets sanctioned for 2019-2020 including the Turkey Scramble, Kringle Jingle, and Let's Move Kansas.

A proposal was made and the group agreed that MVA will look at acquiring its own Timing System.

Certification Chair Report

Racquel Adams, Certification Chair, explained the process and backlog for getting badges ordered. All certification requirements are listed on line, including the background check and Safesport information. For information or concerns about badges, contact Rae Adams @ mvacertifications@gmail.com.

USATF members who will be receiving awards during the Annual Meeting in December:

- Roger Burbage will be inducted into the USATF National Officials Committee Hall Of Fame.
- Victor Everett Starter; Outstanding Service Award
- Harvey Kendall Outstanding Service Award
- Wayne Armbrust Outstanding Service Award
- Judith Gipp Outstanding Service Award
- Larry Staton Outstanding Service Award

Congratulations to Connie Brand who has been elected the AEC Chair for Colorado, Dakotas, Iowa, Minnesota, Missouri Valley, Nebraska and Ozark.

Meeting adjourned at 1:55pm